1142 Sniders Highway
Walterboro, SC 29488
Phone: (843) 538-2503
Fax: (843) 538-7478
1142 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC, US, 29488
- Phone: (843) 538-2503
- Fax: (843) 538-7478
Arts & Museums
This museum is located in the 1892 Bank of Hampton building that is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and features the original bank vault, safe, and hand painted doors. An array of military artifacts are on display, as well as exhibits that include an antique medical equipment collection donated by local physicians and a section dedicated to ethnic cultures of the Lowcountry.
This 1700's rice plantation that was once 5500 acres offers one of the best insights into the life of enslaved Africans who utilized their homeland skills in an agricultural industry that made Charleston one of the richest cities in colonial America. Now a 654-acre historical, cultural and natural museum, visitors have a unique opportunity to walk swamp trails and see natural wildlife just like plantation workers. An interpretive center introduces the visitor to the "Caw Caw Swamp", then guided tours into rice fields with interconnecting boardwalks and view archaeological digs of a plantation house burned by Sherman during the Civil War. Bird walks and canoeing trips on the sea marshes are two popular programs. Bring binoculars, bottled water, picnic lunch or snack and insect repellent. Rates vary for resident and non-resident. Call or check website. - Natasha Lawrence
As the only Kazoo manufacturing company in the United States, this one-story musical toy facility is also a museum with tours and a gift shop. Kids and adults have a chance to make their own kazoos, too. Educational and entertaining, this museum shows that there's more to the little plastic sound maker. Invented in 1883 by Warren Herbert Frost, a kazoo is shaped like a submarine that, when blown into, modifies a person's voice. It is both a professional device and one that can be played just for fun. Located in a plain warehouse, The Kazoo Factory museum has an extensive display of early designs, materials and historic pieces. A factory tour shows how a kazoo is made in different styles, sizes and colors. Parking is on-site. -Natasha Lawrence
Displays and memorabilia at this museum recall sea island plantation life, the Civil War, and the island's early Native American inhabitants. A gift shop is also on site.
A Greek Revival mansion built in 1844 and formerly owned by the Beaufort Historic Foundation, the George Elliott House is one of the beautiful structures in Beaufort that Sherman did not destroy during the Civil War. It was used by the military until 1865. Deserted at that time by the original owner and rice planter, Dr. W. A. Jenkins, as Union troops approached, it was sold by the Federal Government for back taxes after the war. The ground floor of the building is open to self-guided tours Monday through Friday, and the upper floors are now used as private offices. Visitors can purchase gifts and artwork from the Garden Shop. There is no admission charge. -Natasha Lawrence
Located in a former police department building in the historic district, this small 1993 museum houses exhibits, relics, models and artifacts about the history of Summerville and surrounding area. By appointment, one-hour walking tours are offered by the museum that take visitors past Victorian and pre-Civil War plantation homes (around USD10 adults, USD5 children ages 12-17, and free for children under 12). The museum also has a gift shop with books and activity books for children. In March the museum holds a plant sale and on the third Thursday of each month it holds a gathering open to the public with live entertainment and carriage rides. Closed New Year's, Thanksgiving and Christmas Day. Admission is free, but donations are accepted. No credit cards; cash and checks accepted; street parking only. -Natasha Lawrence
Open Friday and Saturday from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., the Lowcountry Estuarium is a coastal learning center designed to promote the conservation and preservation of the Lowcountry's marshes, creeks, rivers, and sounds by providing educational and recreational hands-on learning.
Drayton Hall is a National Trust Historic site resting on 630 lovely acres (254 hectares). The building was completed in 1742, and today it stands as a quality example of Georgian-Palladian architecture; in fact it is the oldest surviving example of this architectural style. Owned by the Drayton family for seven generations, the house remains near to its original condition, though it has been through the Revolutionary War and several hurricanes and earthquakes. This is a true piece of history, so come explore the house and enjoy the pastoral grounds. Drayton Hall regularly hosts school field trips and other educational opportunities.
Dedicated on January 8, 1975, this 8,000-square-foot building is located at the Marine Corps Recruit Depot, an active military facility. There is a short film that introduces the visitor to the base. On the first floor visitors can explore the history of Parris Island from prehistoric times, occupation by Native Americans to the time the Depot was established. The second floor features photos, artifacts, equipment, uniforms and other memorabilia from 1900 on. To access the base, visitors must obtain a pass at the front gate (have driver's license, proof of insurance and vehicle registration ready). Visit the Parris Island Museum Gift Shop that is managed by the Parris Island Historical and Museum Society (the store accepts credit cards). Check the website graduation dates; ceremonies on Thursdays and Fridays may cause traffic. Closed New Year's, Easter, Thanksgiving and Christmas days. Admission to the museum is free.
You'd never expect to find a museum in a mall, but that's where you'll find The American Military Museum. Located in the Citadel Mall in West Ashley, they boast a huge collection of military gear from American conflicts dating all the way back to the Revolution. They have uniforms, headgear, weapons, flags, patches and more, from all branches of the military. Come see real pieces of American history!
This 25,000 square-foot museum and interactive exhibit/educational playground provides a wealth of information on the history of fire fighting equipment and vehicles, as well as safety and fire prevention programs, assisted by staff dressed as firemen. Adults and children will have plenty to see, touch and hear. Considered one of the finest fire museums in the United States, visitors can view 18 fire trucks from 1857 to 1969, slide down a fire pole, or test one's knowledge, strength and skill at using fire fighting equipment. Located near the Tanger Shopping Outlet Center off Interstate 26, the museum also features a small gift shop and a Charleston Visitor Center information booth. - Natasha Lawrence
The North Charleston and American LaFrance Fire Museum is dedicated to teaching children about the science of fire and fire fighting. There are a number of interactive exhibits, which are designed to teach about fire safety and fire prevention. They also have a large collection of antique fire fighting gear, including old uniforms and a whole fleet of vintage firetrucks.