Econo Lodge Northeast
2310 Fraver Dr.
Reading, PA 19605
Phone: (610) 378-1145
Fax: (610) 372-1242
Arts & Museums
Award-winning warbirds, classic airliners, and rare and unusual military and civilian aircraft and historical exhibits are showcased at this unique museum that is a major Reading tourist attraction.
Housed in the oldest African American-owned church building in Reading and Berks County, a registered landmark and a stop on the Underground Railroad, the Central Pennsylvania African-American Museum establishes, preserves, and maintains a collection of objects, artifacts, papers, books, photographs, and more that document the history and culture of African Americans in the New World, with an emphasis on local and regional African American history and culture.
Focusing on railroading and exhibits, this society museum is nestled on 25 acres and includes the 15 inch gauge Laurel Run Railroad, a large "O" scale model railroad, one inch and one and a half inch scale Live Steam railroads, and much more.
Supported in part by grants from the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Council of the Arts, this museum offers an array of mixed media work on a variety of arts, science, and civilization.
The Fleetwood Area Historical Society's museum contains over 4,000 artifacts relating to the area's rich heritage.
The Lerch Tavern was constructed in 1797 and is a two-story rectangular-shaped structure built in limestone. Over the span of years, it has gained significance as a historic tavern and inn in Werners Ville. It is the headquarters to the Heidelberg Heritage Society. Provisions are made for guided tours and ample parking facilities to ensure the well-being of large groups. The tavern has period rooms furnished with stellar antiques and vintage belongings. It is an important museum and also home to a non-circulating reading library.
Situated on a 30-acre, 19th century farmstead with the stone Eichler-Frankenfield farmhouse, a barn and smaller authentically restored buildings, including a one-room schoolhouse; the mission of the Pennsylvania German Cultural Heritage Center is to preserve Pennsylvania German history, folklore and traditions with its collection of more than 10,000 artifacts from the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The library contains genealogical, historical and cultural information. Programs are held throughout the year.
Roadside America features a mini-model of American landscape complete with rail roads, hills, buildings, churches, school, forests, pretty much everything! Housed in a property of about 8,000 square feet (740 square meters), it was set up by Laurence Gieringer in 1935. An expansive piece of work that Gieringer kept adding to ever since its establishment, Roadside America remains largely unperturbed since 1963 owing to Gieringer's death that same year.
A museum rich with history, the Bahr Mill Complex was built in 1897 to house Jacob Bahr’s woodworking and grit mill business. Today, the mill has been completely restored to give visitors a chance to view the historical equipment used by the family. Don’t forget to visit the museum shop on your way out and pick up some very cool souvenirs like the miniature hay rake exactly like the rake used by Lawrence Bahr. The mill is open only on summer weekends from 11:00a to 4:00p, and all other times by appointment.
Area-built carriages, automobiles, trucks, bicycles and motorcycles and electric battery powered vehicles from around the world are part of the two vehicle collections found at the Boyertown Museum of Historical Vehicles. Scheduled programs and events are held throughout the year.
Rodale Institute's ongoing Farming Systems Trials is "the longest running research trial comparing organic and non-organic farming in the United States."
Built in the 1700s by Paul Gemberling, one of the earliest German settlers in the community, the property Gemberling-Rex House comprises of the half-timbered house, a bake oven, a smoke house and an incompletely built stone barn. Located in Schaefferstown, within a township called Heidelberg, PA, the Rex House forms an important landmark and represents the village origins and underlying culture. Now managed and owned by Historic Schaefferstown, Inc it is open to public for informative tours every Tuesday from 1p to 4p.