232 South Pearson Rd.
Pearl, MS 39208
Phone: (601) 932-4226
Fax: (601) 932-4571
232 South Pearson Rd. , Pearl, MS, US, 39208
- Phone: (601) 932-4226
- Fax: (601) 932-4571
This imposing downtown monument honors the memory of the thousands of brave Mississippians who have given their lives in defense of our country in every war. A remarkable cast aluminum elevator is one of the most noteworthy aspects of the structure, which features panels and doors painted in panorama to depict the Battle of Ackia. Inside the building an informative military museum covers Mississippi's role in American war history from 1776 through Vietnam. Admission is free.
This team of local specialists stands ready to provide you with information on area business development, statistics about the regional economic climate, building specs, site inspections and other critical data. President Duane O'Neill and his staff have all the resources to make a temporary or permanent relocation to Jackson smooth and efficient. New resident information, long-term visit planning, housing markets, special events planning and permits are all available. This group is located in Old Fire Station #1, a historically renovated landmark on the same block as Jackson City Hall.
This hulking three-story example of utilitarian architecture is located in the heart of Jackson, a few short yards behind historic City Hall. For 70 years, the structure served the city as Central Fire Station #1—a bit too late to prevent the widespread, flaming devastation at the hands of the Union's General Sherman. After being decommissioned in favor of more modern fire fighting facilities, a series of off-again, on-again plans to demolish the building were never realized. In 1978, it was restored to its original elegance and became the new home of the Jackson Chamber of Commerce.
Dedicated in 1930, this hulking grey megalith was designed to serve as a temple of justice for Hinds County and was closely patterned after various Greek temples. Comprised of limestone and local granite, the courthouse is a masterpiece of Art Deco design. A quick upward glance at the north and south entrances will reveal intimidating guardians, indeed. Towering sculptures of Moses and Socrates, history's most formidable giver and interpreter of law, keep a diligent vigil over justice in the capital city.
Founded in 1837, the Clarion-Ledger is the second-oldest company in the state, and one of the nation's few remaining statewide-circulated daily newspapers. Purchased by Gannet in 1982, this remains Jackson's chief source for daily news, and is delivered to most hotels and available at all area news stands. Tours are available at the site, or visit their Web site for a virtual, on-line tour.
The aptly-dubbed Heritage Building boasts a distinguished heritage in the history of local commercial enterprise. The six-story brick landmark went up in 1905 as the Jones-Kennington Dry Goods Store. Later known as simply Kennington's, the venerable department store finally sold out several decades ago, after which the structure became the Jackson flagship location for new commercial giant McRae's. A stirring specimen of early 20th Century urban commercial architecture, the storied Heritage building is now subdivided among various local enterprises that maintain offices within.
Downtown Jackson is all you could possibly want in a district of a city. It has copious amounts of fun things to do. The Farish Street Entertainment district is located here as also are many theaters. The Jackson Zoo and the Mississippi Fairgrounds and Coliseum are in Downtown Jackson too. This is one place where you will always find something to do or a great new attraction to enjoy. Plunge into Downtown with its parades community events and attractions, and have a whale of a time.
When it first graced the capital city's skyline in 1924, this building soared as Jackson's only bona fide skyscraper. Noted for its distinctive lines and crenellated clock tower, a close observation reveals it as nothing less than a scaled-down version of New York City's Woolworth Building. Home to the oldest Mississippi-based insurance company, Lamar's president at the time of construction was the father of author Eudora Welty. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this building still stands as a distinctive presence over downtown Jackson.
The stunning antebellum mansion that is the home of Mississippi's governor is also widely considered to be a prime example of Greek Revival architecture in the United States. Mississippi's chief executives have resided in the stately manor ever since 1842, which ranks it number two in the rankings for continuously occupied governor's residence. Guided tours are available every half hour during public hours. Admission is free.
Located on North Congress Street right across the street from The Galloway House, The Galloway United Methodist Church caters to the community thereabouts. Apart from its religious services the church also offers various arts and music programs that bring the community together. It even offers you a chance to participate in dance, drama and crafts as it actively brings these ministries to life.
Dating to 1889, this beautiful home was built for Bishop Charles Betts Galloway, an internationally known preacher of the Methodist faith and longtime head of the Galloway Memorial United Methodist Church, which is located across the street. Author of many books on religion, history and temperance, Galloway was a secular celebrity for many years and his sermons were said to be legendary. This two-story frame Victorian was constructed in the Second Empire style. The building was renovated in 1983 and now houses the offices of several prominent local lawyers.
Organized in Jackson in 1846, the first Catholic Church was burned by General William Tecumseh Sherman in 1863. A second structure suffered a similar fate; the current cathedral was begun in 1897 and dedicated three years later. As the seat of the archdiocese, St. Peter's is home to the area's Catholic bishop and serves as general headquarters for Catholics in the state. Daily and weekly masses are held, with confessional services taking place every Saturday.