251 Greenmanville Avenue
Mystic, CT 06355
Phone: (860) 536-9666
Fax: (860) 536-2044
251 Greenmanville Avenue, Mystic, CT, US, 06355
- Phone: (860) 536-9666
- Fax: (860) 536-2044
One of the nation's best loved aquariums, this world-class aquarium features the world's only exhibits based on Dr. Robert Ballard's deep sea discoveries, as well as a wonderful variety of creatures including stunning Beluga whales, Stellar Sea Lions, and North African penguins.
Hands on underwater exploration is a key feature of the Mystic Aquarium in Mystic, Connecticut! Come see beluga whales in a lovely one-acre outdoor area, African Penguins, sea lions and much more. There are also the special Animal Encounter Programs where you get an hour to interact with either the beluga whales, penguins or sting rays. In a 1999 expansion on the Aquarium is The Institute for Exploration, housing artifacts and exhibits based on Dr. Robert Ballad's underwater explorations for famous sunken ships, such as PT 109, the Bismarck and the RMS Titanic.
The Charles W. Morgan is the only surviving whaling vessel across the entire globe. Currently housed in Mystic Seaport, in 1966, this ship was designated as National Historic Landmark and added to the National Register of Historic Places. This whaleship gives you an insight into the whaling industry and its affiliated equipment.
Popularly known as one of the oldest surviving commercial fishing store, the Emma C. Berry was a well equipped smack. This well also consists of a place for storing the fishes caught. The smack was designed to keep the fishes alive once they were caught, this area was known as a wet well.
Brilliant is a schooner located at the Mystic Port in Connecticut. It was built in the year 1932 on City Island, Bronx. It was originally built as an ocean racing yacht. It crossed the Atlantic Ocean within 15 days on its maiden voyage. It was later acquired by the U.S. Coast Guard during World War II, when two machine guns were loaded on the yacht. After being sold to a sailor post the war, it is currently owned by the Mystic Port since 1957, and used as a classroom and part of watercraft collection.
America's last wooden whaling ship, the Charles W. Morgan, resides at this small living history museum in Mystic, a tiny seaside town about an hour outside of New Haven, on the way up to Providence. Mystic Seaport, The Museum of America and the Sea is a great place to take the kids to teach them about the importance and effects of the whaling industry on the towns dotting the Connecticut Shoreline. Learn about the steps involved in making the perilous trip out to sea for fishing or whaling. Scenes from Steven Spielberg's 1997 film Amistad were filmed here, not to mention the Seaport's shipyards constructed the re-creation of the schooner. The nation's leading maritime museum, Mystic Seaport is a must-see if visiting Connecticut.
Joseph Conrad is a veteran iron-hulled ship that has traveled more than around 57,000 miles (92,000 kilometers). A ship with a great history, it was originally launched in 1882 as Georg Stage. Further, after sailing as a private yacht, she prepared as a trainer. Today, she stands still as a museum ship at Mystic Seaport, Connecticut. In 1905, Georg Stage sank, taking along 22 men with her. Later however, she was heightened and refurbished to regain her career. A ship of mammoth history and spellbinding beauty, it is a must visit.
Constructed in 1947 and subsequently used as a fishing vessel, Roann was acquired by Mystic Seaport in the 1970s. An Eastern-rig dragger, Roann gives visitors to the museum a glimpse of an older fishing culture that existed in New England, which has since been replaced by ultra-modern technology.
Sabino is a wooden war boat that was launched in 1908 from what was known as the American mosquito fleet. Its historic importance earned it a National Historic Landmark designation in 1992. This small, coal-fired steamboat can be seen at the Mystic Seaport Museum, where visitors can take rides on it over the Mystic River. It is 57 feet (17 meters) in length and requires a crew of three. A quick tour on this ride is like time travel.
Continuously owned by the Denison Family, this early 18th century center chimney Colonial farm house is nestled on 200 acres of ledge, woodlands, and meadows which includes 18th, 19th, and 20th century period gardens and over eight miles of nature trails. The house is furnished with family heirlooms and each room reflects a different period in history of the Denisons and this country.
The L. A. Dunton is a historic fishing schooner which was built in 1921. Designed by Thomas McManus, the ship is 123 feet (37.49 meters) long and was brought to the Mystic Seaport in 1963. The schooner has a great architecture, and has been preserved well through all these years. Although it does not function anymore, it is kept on display at the Mystic Seaport Museum. Visitors can view the ship and learn about its history here.
Clyde's is the oldest steam powered cider mill in the country! Located just north of Olde Mistick Village, this popular attraction is best to visit during the beginning of fall when the apples are at their peak and the leaves are turning. There are free tours and demonstrations done on weekends in October and November. Clyde's is open from September to December only.