Econo Lodge On the Bay
2516 10th Street
Menominee, MI 49858
Phone: (906) 863-4431
Fax: (906) 863-3069
Built by the Chicago-based architectural firm, Patton & Miller at the behest of Mr. And Mrs. Augustus Spies, the Spies Public Library cannot be missed. Located on the First Street in Menominee, the library has diligently served the people of this humble town since its establishment in 1905. Original designs of the place included a museum room which stored many artworks and antiques that are now part of the Menominee County Historical Museum. The site is also home to the duplicate of Boy with the Leaky Boot, a gorgeous bronze statue donated by the Henes family. Whether it is to borrow books, marvel at the architecture of the place or admire the popular statue, this library makes for an interesting visit!
The Half Way North was installed by Frank Noyes of the Daily Eagle in the 1930s. Located along the U.S 41 Highway, although inaccessible, it makes for a good milestone monument. Marking the exact halfway between the North Pole and the Equator which both span 3107.47 miles (5000.98 kilometers) from this exact point, it commemorates the symmetry in geography of Menominee.
This beautiful cascade also has a scenic park, campground, picnic area, and playground facilities located near it.
This park offers the beauty of the falls as well as a serene campground, picnic area, and trout fishing. A five minute walk brings you to Eight Foot Falls and mile northward takes you to Twelve Foot Falls.
This local brewery features seven different types of beer. Tours are available so you can see for yourself how the beer is made.
Come here and commemorate the great fire of Peshtigo.
Ever wanted to cuddle cute animals or their young ones? Then, this zoo is the place to be. Tucked away from the buzzing city, DeYoung Family Zoo is located in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. With a wide range of animals, the zoo also hosts various educational programs to engage its young visitors. The visitors can also interact and pet some animals while they feed them.
Nestled on Chambers Island on the Wisconsin side of Lake Michigan sits the Chambers Island Lighthouse. Shining for the first time in 1868, the lighthouse welcomed its first keeper, Lewis Williams, a native of the island. As a result of falling lake levels the boathouse has been repeatedly moved throughout the years. In 1961 an automatic light was installed to keep the costs down once the Coast Guard has assumed responsibility of the lighthouse.
This historic house dates back to 1875 and is an authentic example of Greek farmhouse architecture. Tour the house and experience the feeling of domestic life in 1875.
Features wines produced from Door County orchards. Free tastings are available. The winery is located in an old schoolhouse which provides an interesting setting.
Eagle Bluff Light, which is also known as Eagle Bluff lighthouse, is located in Door County, Wisconsin. The lighthouse was built at a cost of USD12,000 in the year 1868. It was first lit in 1868 and was automated in 1926. The former lighthouse keeper's home was converted into a museum and the structure got added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1970.
Peninsula State Park is the third largest park in the state of Wisconsin, measuring 3776 acres. The park has tons of features, including more than 450 different campsites, a nature center, lighthouse and theater. The park also features many miles of hiking and bike trails.