11237 Shaw Avenue
Meadville, PA 16335
Phone: (814) 724-6366
Fax: (814) 337-6289
11237 Shaw Avenue, Meadville, PA, US, 16335
- Phone: (814) 724-6366
- Fax: (814) 337-6289
The Meadville Downtown Historic District is an important area of the Meadville region in Crawford County, Pennsylvania. It features historical buildings and structures that represent the architectural styles prevalent in the bygone era. In 1984, this district was placed in the National Register of Historic Places.
The whole family can enjoy this miniature golf course that also features a food stand.
Open for public tours every Saturday and Sunday, from 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m., from Memorial Day through August, this log cabin replica is found on the location of the first permanent settlement in northwestern Pennsylvania when, on May 12, 1788, David and John Mead camped under a wild cherry tree on the east bank of French Creek.
The Bentley Hall was one of the foremost structure to be built on the Allegheny College campus. Constructed in 1835, this building represents the Federal style of architectural design and features three floors. Featured in the National Register of Historic Places, Bentley Hall now houses administrative offices of the college.
Established in 1815, the Allegheny College is pretty much an institution in itself in Meadville, and has educated students from far as China, Africa and France through tie-ups with international universities. Extra-curricular activities and athletics have always played a crucial role in every student's day-to-day life here.
The Conneaut Lake Park is a seasonal amusement park that attracts visitors primarily for the legendary roller coaster ride - Blue Streak. Initially known as Exposition Park in 1892, it capitalized on its location by the Conneaut Lake that was formed by a melting glacier. After an unfortunate fire that ravaged most of the area, the park was renamed to Conneaut Lake Park, and it started to include a number of rides for families. Some of the popular ones include Tilt-A-Whirl, Flying Scooters, Dodgems, Witches Express and Paratroopers. Numerous condos and villas that can be hired for overnight stays line the pretty waterfront so call for prices and hours.
Established in 2000 by the charming husband-wife duo of Gary and Tracy Shilling, the family-run Wilhelm Winery offers visitors a fun time on their expansive premises. Comprehensive tours are offered so make sure to take one of those, and pick up some red, white or blush wine on your way back. A number of festivals are celebrated here such as Labor Day, Memorial Day etc.
The Gibson House, as the name suggests, was owned by Dr. William Gibson, a renowned physician. This Victorian style mansion was built in 1856 and is adorned with ornate designs and Acanthus Leaf. Throughout the mansion, the wood work is excellent and oak has been used for the same. Apart from the splendid design and interiors, the highlight is the circular staircase that spirals up to four levels. This house is also known as the Mark Twain Manor, owing to the friendship between William Gibson and author Mark Twain. Stories of ghost spotting at the Gibson House also surfaced for a while. Currently, it houses a restaurant.