4386 State Route 43
Kent, OH 44240
Phone: (330) 678-9927
Fax: (330) 678-7695
Franklin Township Hall is located in Kent, Ohio. It is also known as the Town Hall and was added to the National Register of Historic Places on October 10, 1975. It was built in 1837 as an office for the Franklin Silk Company which was later purchased by the Franklin Township to be converted into home of the government.
This sprawling green stretch of land was donated by the Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company and hence, the name, Goodyear Heights Metro Park. Opened in 1930, over the period of time, more trees and flower shrubs were planted and additional land was acquired, today visitors can see variety of beautiful trees and plants like oaks, tulip trees, pines, red maples and so forth. Apart from greenery and perfectly maintained lawns, the Goodyear Heights Metro Park also has excellent sporting facilities including sports like hiking, fishing, baseball and softball. Here, you can enjoy different activities with your friends or simply explore this wonderful park featuring a pond, paved walkways and shady woods. Open late till 11p, this park is certainly an oasis of the city.
Boasts a boardwalk, boat rides, a spectacular view of the falls, a pedestrian mall with antiques, hobby and music shops, international restaurants, and a line-up of special events that includes Friday's Rockin' Fine Arts Festival.
The Goodyear Airdock is a historic airship construction, storage and maintenance facility in Akron, Ohio. The complex was built in 1929 by the Wilbur Watson Engineering Co. and covers as much area as eight football fields, making it one of the most spacious buildings when it was first created. The site is a Historic Civil Engineering Landmark and was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1973.
This magnificent mansion was built by a leading Akron Nineteenth Century industrialist, and is a wonderful example of the Second Empire Italianate design; there are twenty eight rooms, and the house is structured so as to radiate outward from a large, central octagonal hall. Built in 1871, and closed only in the month of January, this wonderful mansion offers tours eleven months of the year.
The focal point of this awe-inspiring exhibit is 13 colorful, intricately sculpted scenes depicting the earthly life of Jesus Christ. Visitors shouldn't miss 13 ethereal paintings on velvet or an amphora found in a 2,000 year-old wreckage in the Aegean Sea.
Formerly the silo for the Quaker Oats Company till 1970, the unique building served as a hotel under various names. Famous for offering unique perfect round rooms, the building was known as Hilton hotel, Crowne Plaza hotel and more recently Quaker Square Inn at The University of Akron. The University of Akron purchased the entire property to convert it into residence and dormitory halls for its students. The remarkable structure still attracts many eyeballs and is one of the major landmarks of the area.
Cascade Locks Historic District ravine is located to the northwest of Akron. There are many historic buildings in the District, landmarks within the district include the original mills of Quaker Oats founder, Ferdinand Schumacher and The Mustill Store.
The St. Bernard Catholic Church is serving the Akron region since 1861, and continues to do so. This church building perfectly exemplifies the German-Romanesque style combined with Baroque designs. It was added to the U.S. National Register of Historic Places in 1989.
Located just about 30 miles (48.28 kilometers) south of Cleveland, Thirsty Dog Brewing Company is located on Grant Street in Akron, OH. The wonderful brewery produces small batches of a variety of handcrafted beers. Several kinds of ales, wheat beers, lagers and barrel-aged beers are brewed on site. Each of their flavors is unique and well-balanced, that are sure to impress even the strictest beer connoisseur. Thirsty Dog Brewing Co. also offers regular tours of their brewery, the tour includes a stop over at the tasting room, which is also available separately for private events and parties. Check the website for more information.
Established in 1839, the Glendale Cemetery is worth a visit for its splendid architecture and garden. This peaceful and serene space has exquisite mausoleums, a Gothic Chapel and a beautifully maintained garden. It also has special memorial for the Civil War and monument dedicated to John R. Buchtel. For more details, check website.
The history of Church Of Our Saviour Episcopal can be traced back to the late 1800s, when it was started by a group of episcopal women. This church is attended by around 100 people from the 200 persons neighborhood. Church Of Our Saviour Episcopal houses various community services and has an active ministry till date.