871 County Rd. 64
Elmira, NY 14903-9785
Phone: (607) 739-2000
Fax: (607) 739-3552
Arts & Museums
Located directly across from the Harris Hill Soaring Corporation's airfield, the 37,132 square foot National Soaring Museum is the only comprehensive U.S. museum and one of only two worldwide that is focused on motorless flight.
This art museum houses an interesting collection of 20th century paintings and sculptures.
Believed to be the earliest commercial structure in the town of Elmira, New York, the Chemung Canal Bank Building was established in 1832. The building was occupied by the Chemung Canal Trust Company for about 76 years, after which a number of law firms set up offices in it. Today, this Greek Revival and Traditional Federal style building is owned and maintained by the Chemung County Historical Society, who have opened it as a local history museum and a library, both open to the public. The building has become a significant landmark of Elmira.
Exhibits on Native Americans, Mark Twain and local history make up this local history museum.
Situated in the Finger Lakes region of Upstate New York, The Rockwell Museum of Western Art displays a collection of Native American and Western artwork. It showcases paintings at its themed galleries which include Wilderness, Buffalo, Horse, Indian and Cowboy. Its educational program and tours, affiliated with the New York State Learning Standards, is particularly enjoyable for students between 8 and 12 years of age. There is also a National Geographic Collection of The Greatest Photographs of the American West, which is a favorite among visitors. Music, Margaritas & Sunsets is a special program hosted by the museum, every Wednesday, which includes a series of musical concerts. For a slice of Native American history, be sure to visit this museum.
The Corning Museum of Glass is a celebration of glass, "not just for looking at or through." There are about 45,000 glass objects here, hands on exhibits that explore the art, science and technology of glass, daily glass-blowing demonstrations, a glass-working studio, a world class research library and market. See the website to know more.
The Jenning's Tavern, popularly known as the Benjamin Patterson Inn is a historic inn and tavern that is spread over less than one acre of land. This tow levels structure designed in the Federal style of architecture is said to be the oldest frame building of that area. It features the dining room, the kitchen, an open fireplace, the long rooms and the guest quarters, and a beautiful collection of the things present in the home.
Explore the heavens at this mesmerizing planetarium, which projects real-time images of the night sky for guests to observe. The planetarium educates and delights all, with its fascinating, multimedia shows. Learn about the history of space exploration, Earth's nearby galaxies, connections between astronomy and culture, the planets, the stars, and NASA's family of space vehicles. The planetarium is
Open to the public June through August, and by appointment only September through May, this museum is housed in the Painted Post Depot. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the pre-fabricated building was erected on its current site in 1881-1882, and was used by the railroad until 1954. Now it holds the Town of Erwin Museum Collection, which interprets the history of Painted Post and the Town of Erwin through exhibits of artifacts, pictures, illustrations and videotapes.
Dedicated to the accomplishments of early motorcycle manufacturer and aviation pioneer Glenn Curtiss, the Glenn H. Curtiss Museum houses a collection of historic aircraft, motorcycles and other artifacts of Curtiss origin. Other items of local historical significance on display include boats, winemaking equipment, firearms, house-wares, tools, toys, and 19th century firefighting equipment. Talk with volunteer craftsman and watch them as they work on the restoration of historic aircraft in the Restoration Shop.