490 Main Street
East Hartford, CT 06108
Phone: (860) 569-1100
Fax: (860) 569-4319
Nestled besides the Connecticut River, the Great River Park is a scenic waterfront park. Enjoy a stroll on the paved and lighted river-walks or have a picnic with your family and friends amidst nature. Go fishing or boating and check out their exercise stations. This parkland also features an amphitheater that can accommodate up to 350 spectators and has many sculptures all around the park. It hosts year-round events and programs as well.
The Connecticut River cuts through Hartford's downtown and creates a picturesque area for people to walk or bike down. The Connecticut River is the longest river in New England and is 407 miles (655 kilometers) long. The river contains many species of fish, including Striped Bass, Rainbow Trout and the American eel.
Also known as Hartford Bridge, it is a stone arch bridge in Hartford, Connecticut. It is 1075 feet (328 meters) in length, and has nine spans. The bridge which was built in the year 1908, crosses the Connecticut River, and carries over 142,500 cars daily on an average basis. It is one of the largest stone arch bridges in the world, and one of the oldest in the Interstate Highway System. It is named after the late Governor and Senator Morgan Bulkeley.
The Makens Bemont House or the Huguenot House of 1761 was home to Lieutenant Edmund Bemont. The former dwelling was shifted to its present site at Martin Park in the 1970s. This mansion was restored by the Historical Society of East Hartford and transformed into a house museum. This museum showcases objects, furniture, furnishings and artefacts from the 18th as well as the early 19th Century.
The Amos Bull House is the oldest of its kind in Hartford and was the first structure in the state to be added on the National Register of Historic Places. Built in the 18th Century, this brick building is located behind the Butler-McCook House & Garden. Renovated and owned by Connecticut Landmarks, it is spread across 5,500 square feet (510.97 square meters) and features 12 rooms. It was a dry good store and house initially and went on to be used for various other commercial purposes. It is an important landmark in the city and now a vital repository with an impressive collection of photographs and archives. It is also the base of Connecticut Landmarks.
Spread over about 18 acres (7.28 hectares) of land in the South Green neighborhood of Hartford, is the Hartford Botanical Garden. After a fund raising event in 2006, the garden's design was proposed. Located near the Armsmear mansion, the Hartford Botanical Garden makes for an interesting visit.
Founded in 1774, this large library contains approximately 500,000 items including books, audio books, reference materials, and children's books. They also feature special collections such as the Hartford Collection, a collection of works by Hartford authors, and the Patent and Trademark Collection. A cafe is located inside the library that serves gourmet teas, coffees, and pastries.
This is one of the signature buildings of Hartford's insurance industry.
One of the nation's oldest state houses, Hartford's Old State House dates back to 1796 and is on the site of the original structure built in 1637. A Federal-style building designed by famed architect Thomas Bulfinch, the Old State House has been restored on numerous occasions and has been on the list of National Historic Landmarks since 1966. Even though it has not served the Connecticut government since the construction of the new State Capitol building since 1872, the Old State House is a must-see for families and those interested in the history of the Constitution State.
With a congregation founded in 1636, the Center Church is the fourth meeting house to reside on its current location with the present church built in 1807. The Center Church has always maintained itself as not just a religious icon of the city, but as a cultural one as well. Today, there are concerts and important city events, such as First Night, which are held on the grounds of the church. Also on the site of the church is Hartford's oldest cemetery, the Ancient Burial Ground, where its citizens were interred from 1640 to 1802. "Our Church is 375 years old; our thinking is not" is the motto of the 375 year-old house of worship and is one of the most progressive congregations in the state.
City Steam Brewery Café is a spectacular seven-level restaurant in the historic Richardson Building with the Marriott Residence Inn. The 15-barrel brew house allows brewmaster Ron Page to handcraft up to 12 styles of ales and lagers. The moderately priced classic brew house menu has new world touches that provide for everyone's tastes. Award winning Brew Ha Ha Comedy Club performs on Thursday at 9p, Friday and Saturday at 7p and 10p. You can enjoy a DJ on Thursday through Saturday without a cover. There is also a large upscale pool room, outdoor beer garden and many function rooms.
A final resting place for the Revolutionary War soldiers; there are approximately 6,000 graves. From 1640 to the 1800's this was Hartford's only graveyard.