515 South Avenue
Bradford, PA 16701
Phone: (814) 362-4511
Fax: (814) 362-2810
Each year, thousands of visitors come to the 15,000 square-foot Zippo/Case Museum. Displays include rare Zippo lighters, Case knives, interactive media kiosks, a 7x11 foot American flag made of more than 3,400 red, white and blue Zippo lighters, "knife-in-motion" hologram, and ZAC (Zippo And Case), a seven-foot audio/kinetic ball machine full of motion, sound, and colors produced by its gears, chimes, chutes and climbs.
Cared for by the Bradford Landmark Society, the Crook Farm is a typical farm of the mid-1800s. The property includes a house, farm, one-room schoolhouse, depot, herb garden and outbuildings in a beautiful setting. Open from mid-June to September, activities offered include historical tours, demonstrations, luncheon tours, a living history program, church services and weddings.
The Bradford Area Public Library is open from 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Mondays and Wednesdays, until 5:00 p.m. on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays, and on Saturday from 9:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m.
The Crook Farm was constructed in 1856 and is located at Seaward Avenue Extension, Bradford, PA. It also has the Crook Farmhouse which is believed to be one of the oldest structures in this area. There are a lot of recreational activities that take place at the crook farm which include farm trails and tours, music and country fairs. Prior appointment is required for entry at this property, and it is open from Mid June to September. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places on March 26, 1976.
The Hamlin Memorial Library offers fiction and non-fiction books, public computer access, an on-line computer catalog, a variety of children's games on CD-Rom, periodicals, and numerous programs throughout the year.
Dedicated in 1921, Allegany State Park is the largest park in the New York State park system, spanning just about 65,000 acres. The park is comprised mostly of primitive woodland, as well as mountains, meadows, and streams. Two sand beaches can be found in the park, in the Quaker and Red House areas. There are 375 cabins—150 are winterized for year-round camping—along with 424 campsites. There are also a number of fully equipped, modern rental cottages. The park has 18 hiking and nature trails, along with 35 miles of cross-country ski trails in the Art Roscoe Ski touring area, which can be used for hiking and biking in the summer. There are also 90 miles of snowmobile trails that are used for horseback riding in the warmer months. - Christine A. Smyczynski
Established in 1941, this beautiful chestnut cabin was the summer home of the Pfeiffer-Wheeler family. Nestled within the Lillibridge Property of the Pfeiffer Nature Center, the main room offers magnificent views of the surrounding greens. The interior decor, along with an ornate fireplace, has been retained as it is. Pfeiffer-Wheeler American Chestnut Cabin was added to the National Register of Historical Places in 2002. Call ahead for tours of this historic home.
A family built and operated business, Flickerwood Wine Cellars produces some of Pennsylvania's finest wines. They feature 21 wines, including sweet, semi-sweet, semi-dry and dry table wines, in reds, whites, and blushes. Be sure to visit the gift shop which carries many unique items, including Flickerwood Wine Cellars accessories, pottery goblets, ice buckets, candles, wrought iron and black cherry hardwood wine racks, and gourmet wine baskets.
Friends Memorial Public Library is open Tuesday through Saturday.
Thomas L. Kane Memorial Chapel is located at Kane, Pennsylvania in McKean County. The chapel building was constructed between 1876 C.E and 1878 C.E and has a Gothic Revival style of architecture. It was designed by architect Henry J. Taylor and was dedicated to General Kane, who had donated the land for construction of the chapel. The chapel was added to the National Registrar of Historic Places on March 29, 1978.
Pumpkinville is said to be the one of the oldest continually operating pumpkin farm in New York State. Pumpkinville started out in the 1960s as a roadside pumpkin stand and has grown to a 200-acre farm; one of the area's largest fall tourist destinations. More than 80,000 people visit the attraction during its six week season. It features pumpkins in a 10 acre pumpkin patch, a six-acre corn maze, pony rides, crafts by local artisans and lots of delicious foods. Several themed festivals are planed for some of the weekends, including an apple cider weekend, fall festival weekend and a great pumpkin weigh-off. -Christine Smyczynski
Located in the heart of the town, The Ellicottville Town Hall is a historic structure. Formerly known as the Cattaraugus County Court House, this two level brick structure's best part was the cupola on top, it's stunning exterior grabs the attention from a distance and looks amazing. This historic structure is also listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is a great attraction for the tourists.